Big Ship (or WAFU) Rules
Experienced players should always adopt 'Big Ship' or WAFU rules. This is the main rule addition which exists in the game of Uckers. It is the addition of Suck-Back and Blow-Back moves. These two moves only become relevant when players have counters in their Pipe.
1) Suck-Back - Ucking-Off an opponent's counter (or Blob) from their Pipe
- To remove an opponents counter (or Blob) already in their Pipe, a counter must first be positioned on the square at the tail end of the Pipe.
- As with normal Challenges, a counter cannot be moved into position and begin a Suck-Back on the same turn.
- Once a counter is positioned, a player can elect to attempt Suck-Back, BEFORE throwing the dice, by announcing "Suck-Back on X" where X is the number of squares your opponents counter is up the Pipe (counting up from the Challenging counter).
- To succeed a player must then throw that number on either dice, or in total between the dice.
- In addition, if the opponent player has two single counters in the Pipe, then only one is elected. However if both dice thrown correspond to two separate opponent's single counters placement in the Pipe, then both are Sucked-Back and placed back into Base.
- Whatever the Suck-Back throw achieves a player moves one square round the board and their turn is over.
- If two counters up the Pipe are in a Blob then both counters have to be removed at the same time with the correct double thrown.
- Suck-Back cannot be attempted on a three counter Blob.
- A player cannot reach over a Blob in the Pipe to Suck-Back a single counter closer to Home. However a single counter can be Sucked-Back if it is closer than the Blob.
- If the player, who is attempting Suck-Back, has a Blob on the tail of the Pipe, then only one counter moves on not both, thus splitting the Blob, but providing a second chance at Sucking-Back.
- Mixi-blobs cannot suck back.
- If a player throws a six during a Suck-Back attempt, it cannot be used elsewhere in the game and does not denote another turn.
- A player cannot use the non-contributing dice to move another counter on the board.
2) Blow-Back - the opposite to Suck-Back
- The player with a counter in the Pipe announces "Blow-Back" and the requisite number of squares back to the tail square of the Pipe and the opponent’s counter.
- If successful with either die or the total of both dice the opponents counter is sent Home and the winners counter is moved to replace it at the tail of the Pipe.
- If a player fails to Blow-Back they remain on the same square.
- As with Suck-Back's, if there is a two counter Blob at the tail end of Pipe a player must throw a double of the requisite number to succeed.
- Blow-Back cannot be attempted on a three counter Blob.
- A player can Blow-Back a Mixi-Blob, as it only counts as a single counter.
- If a player throws a six, it cannot be used elsewhere in the game and does not denote another turn.
- A player cannot use the non-contributing die to move another counter on the board.